ReThink Wood

PODCAST: Timber + Concrete Hybrid Structural Systems

Photo: Skidmore, Owings, and Merrill
 

Ongoing interest in high-rise timber applications and technology has led to a boom in innovative building method research, with the hope of turning design concepts into structural realities.

Benton Johnson, from the Chicago office of Skidmore, Owings & Merrill, discusses the intricate and practical steps it will to take to make timber structures a reality.
 

Listen now

Free Webinar On Demand: Design Innovation Using Wood

This reThink Wood webinar explores innovative uses of wood in building design, focusing on mass timber and cross-laminated timber (CLT), and profile two unique projects that embody the aesthetic, environmental, and structural strengths of wood as a building material.

 

Presented by Tom S. Chung, Brian Court, and Joseph Mayo
 

WEBINAR


Education credits will be awarded.

   

 

Now Available for Download: Nail-Laminated Timber Design and Construction Guide

The Binational Softwood Lumber Council has released the Nail-Laminated Timber (NLT) U.S. Design and Construction Guide, a first-of-its-kind manual for the U.S. design and construction community. The NLT Guide was conceived and prepared by skilled practitioners who are each dedicated to advancing high-quality timber construction across industries, typologies and geographies. Available exclusively for free download at reThinkWood.com, the guide provides direction to ensure safe, predictable and economical use of NLT, and offers practical strategies and guidance, including lessons learned from real-life projects.
 

Unlike other mass timber products, Nail-Laminated Timber does not require a unique manufacturing facility and can be fabricated with local dimension lumber for use in applications across sectors and building types.

 

Download

Take a Walk in the Woods

Learn more about the forests around us by visiting Walk in the Woods. Get information and resources on: 

Nominate a project for a 2018 WoodWorks Wood Design Award

 



WoodWorks is now accepting nominations for the 2018 Wood Design Awards in the following categories: 

  • Multi-family Wood Design
  • Commercial Wood Design Low- & Mid-Rise
  • Wood in Schools
  • Institutional Wood Design
  • Green Building with Wood
  • Beauty of Wood
  • Wood in Government Buildings
  • Durable & Adaptable Wood Structures

Nomination forms must be completed and submitted online. Read full contest details

CAD Details
Access drawings and illustrations for wood-frame construction designed for high wind, seismic, and snow loads.
CAD/REVIT Construction Documents

Prepare construction documents faster by leveraging available details related to light-frame wood construction.

Heights And Areas Calculator
Ease building code analysis while maximizing your wood building project within the limits of the International Building Code (IBC).
Environmental Product Declarations (EPDs)
The American Wood Council (AWC) has developed environmental product declarations (EPDs) for North American wood products, including softwood lumber and glue-laminated lumber (glulam).
Span Calculator
Performs calculations for all species and grades of commercially available softwood and hardwood lumber as found in the NDS 2005 Supplement.
Connection Calculator
Provides users with a web-based approach to calculating capacities for single bolts, nails, lag screws and wood screws per the 2005 NDS.
Carbon Calculator
Promote the carbon benefits of your wood building project.
Athena Impact Estimator
A software tool that is designed to evaluate whole buildings and assemblies based on internationally recognized life cycle assessment (LCA) methodology.
Webinar: Mass Timber Construction—Primer for Fire Resistance Rated Construction Presented by the American Wood Council


Photo courtesy: naturallywood.com and KK Law

Date: September 21. 2017
Time: 1:55PM-3:00PM Eastern
12:55PM-2:00PM Central
11:55AM-1:00PM Mountain
10:55AM-12:00PM Pacific 

The PDF of the presentation will be posted 48 hours before the webinar and can be accessed here.

Register

Education Credits Awarded.


WoodWorks' Mass Timber Webinar Series

WoodWorks is hosting a mass timber case studies and design webinar series. Two US projects will be discussed through a case study format and new research on mass timber and timber-hybrid products will be presented.
 

August 9th: More with Less: An Overview of the First CLT Hotel in the US—Jeff Morrow, LendLease

REGISTER


September 13th: Timber-Concrete Composite Floor SystemsBenton Johnson, PE, SE, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP

REGISTER
 



Michigan Mass Timber Workshop: July 25, 2017

Recent advancements in mass timber technology, coupled the desire for low carbon and renewable materials, has revitalized wood structural design.  The engaging aesthetic of wood coupled with the expected cost advantage for mass timber products is expected to bring wood into cityscapes.

This workshop brings together experts who have a diverse and deep knowledge of the development of the mass timber revolution in North America.

Learn about:

  • Latest developments in Mass Timber
  • Sustainable wood, sustainable forests
  • Mid-rise mass timber buildings
  • Recent Code and Standard changes related to Mass Timber
  • Mass Timber and fire retarding wood treatments

Date: July 25, 2017
Time: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Location: Eberhard Center Grand Rapids, MI

Register

 

AWC Webinar Education Opportunity: Fire Protection During Construction

Date: July 13, 2017

Time: 1:55PM-3:30 PM Eastern
12:55PM-2:30 PM Central
11:55AM-1:30 PM Mountain
10:55AM-12:30 PM Pacific 


Education credits will be awarded.
 

The PDF of the presentation will posted 48 hours before the webinar, and can be accessed here.